Tuesday, 21 June 2022

No second coming for Amaechi, Akpabio, others as Buhari writes Senate to confirm ministerial replacements

President Muhammadu Buhari has asked the senate to confirm seven nominees for appointment as ministers. Buhari’s request was contained in two letters read by Senate President Ahmad 

Lawan on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday.
The new nominees are:

Henry Ikechukwu (Abia)
Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom)
Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi)
Goodluck Nana Obia (Imo)
Umar Ibrahim Yakub (Kano)
Ademola Adewole Adegorioye (Ondo)
Odo Udi (Rivers)

Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio and Emeka Nwajiuba who all resigned to pursue presidential bids will not return, contrary to initial speculation.
Bola Tinubu, a former Lagos governor, won the presidential ticket if the All Progressives Congress (APC).
The ministers resigned in accordance with the provisions of section 84(12) of the electoral act.
Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF) and justice minister; and Pauline Tallen, women affairs minister; who both had governorship and senatorial ambitions respectively, later withdrew their resignations.
Uche Ogah resigned as minister of state for mines and steel development to pursue Abia governorship.
The upper legislative chamber will screen the nominees in the “committee of the whole” on a date yet to be announced.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Suspect arrested for injecting Mohbad not nurse — Lagos NANNM

  The National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives, Lagos State Council, on Saturday, said the individual reportedly arrested for inj...